Green Beans New Mexican Style

New Mexican Green Beans

The CSA gods bestowed me with an abundance of green beans in the last couple of boxes and my culinary skills were tapped after using them in several entrees. What to do? Can ’em! Come snowfall these will be delightful to pop open and serve as a warming side dish.

My favorite part about this recipe was remembering the gift of cayenne pepper we received for Christmas from my Mom when we were out in New Mexico. I miss seeing bags of chile powder at every turn in the grocery stores! 🙂

I adapted the Dilly Beans recipe from the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving:

  • 2 pounds green beans
  • 1/4 salt
  • 2-1/2 cups vinegar (I used white)
  • 2-1/2 cups water
  • cayenne pepper
  • Mrs Dash Extra Spicy Seasoning Blend
  • garlic cloves
  • garlic scapes

Rinse your beans thoroughly and trim off the ends. Combine salt, vinegar and water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Pack beans lengthwise into your sterilized jars (I used quart jars since my beans were long). I found that laying the jars on their edges on the chopping block was most convenient when I was packing them so all the beans would go in the same way, then turned the jars upright and finished pushing a few more beans in where there were gaps. For each quart jar (halve this for pints) add half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, a sprinkle of Mrs Dash, one elephant clove garlic or two small cloves, and snip some of the garlic scape over the top. Ladle the hot water-salt-vinegar brine into the jars leaving a 1/2 inch of headspace. Remove the air bubbles, cap them and process in a boiling-water bath for ten minutes.

One thought on “Green Beans New Mexican Style

Leave a Reply

