#5 and 6 simplify home tasks, just say no

Continuing in the quest for a zen life here…

#5 simplifying home tasks

Yesterday’s challenge was:

Simplify home tasks. In that vein, think about all the stuff you do at home. Sometimes our home task list is just as long as our work list. And we’ll never get that done either. So focus on the most important, and try to find ways to eliminate the other tasks (automate, eliminate, delegate, or hire help).

There are several things I am doing around the house that are working really well, like: dividing chores between the two of us (I cook, you clean; you bring the laundry downstairs and I’ll wash it), making some chores easier (automating the cats’ litter box, water dish and food dish), and hiring help (fall leaf cleanup made easy by the landscapers, twice monthly housekeeping service because I’m a workaholic). It was very difficult for me to justify the expense and service of hiring outside help, for pretty much anything. I grew up in a can-do household and admitting that I a.) can’t do this, b.) don’t have time to do this or c.) would rather/need to do something else. Well, that took a while to wrap my brain around.

#6 Learn to say no

Learn to say no. This is actually one of the key habits for those trying to simplify their lives. If you can’t say no, you will take on too much.

Oh I have said yes too many times and regretted it. Haven’t we all? It is such a time suck – I say yes then spend countless hours or minutes trying to figure how I can politely get out of something I just don’t have the time for.

One thing I am not good at is saying no to myself – when I come up with a genius idea but don’t have time for it, I don’t table it and come back later, I add it to my growing basket of things to do. Later when I am completely overwhelmed and on the verge of melting into a puddle I see those shiny projects, that I added, have become the straw on this camel’s back.

Leave a Reply

