#7: limit your communications

Call it Mercury Retrograde, or just the Universe looking out for me but I’ve gotten a jump-start to today’s challenge:

7. Limit your communications. Our lives these days are filled with a vast flow of communications: email, IM, cell phones, paper mail, Skype, Twitter, forums, and more. It can take up your whole day if you let it. Instead, put a limit on your communications: only do email at certain times of the day, for a certain number of minutes (I recommend twice a day, but do what works for you). Only do IM once a day, for a limited amount of time. Limit phone calls to certain times too. Same with any other communications. Set a schedule and stick to it.

Sometime last week my smart phone started to selectively download emails, after a few days it dawned on me that I wasn’t receiving all of my business-related emails on my phone. Hrm. Instead of troubleshooting it I’ve decided to let it go for now. It is very refreshing that I am not being beeped at, vibrated at or flashed with little green lights nearly as often as I am used to!

I like Rebecca’s idea here on taking an email vacation. Since I have to go to the office anyway to check email, it will be a no-work-related-emails-at-home kind of vacation. Weeee! 🙂

One thought on “#7: limit your communications

Leave a Reply

