21. spend time alone

Spend time alone. See this list of ways to free up time for yourself — to spend in solitude. Alone time is good for you, although some people aren’t comfortable with it. It could take practice getting used to the quiet, and making room for your inner voice. It sounds new-agey, I know, but it’s extremely calming. And this quiet is necessary for finding out what’s important to you.

I usually catch my alone time in the mornings with a cuppa and some quiet time before the day jumps into gear. Growing up in a large family alone-time was rare, and felt weird. lol. When I got married and moved far away from my family I had tons of downtime when my partner was at work. At first it was scary to have long stretches of solitary time – my usual *white noise* wasn’t there. At one point I would turn on the television in another room so I didn’t feel so alone.

For the most part I prefer to be in the company of others – it’s in my blood I guess. Time spent alone though can be very therapeutic – it gives me the space to unwind, heal and release mental tension.

I didn’t get a chance to spend much time along today. Our schedule was full of sights to see and things to do. Just when I thought I’d catch a few minutes of solitude on the beach this afternoon I was chatted up by a friendly gay couple from San Francisco. Oh well! Maybe tomorrow I’ll have better luck.

One thought on “21. spend time alone

  1. I think if you get a little a.m. solitude each day, you’re golden 🙂 We all need differing amounts and differing kinds of solitude. I personally like productive solitude or relaxed fun solitude as opposed to meditative solitude.

Leave a Reply

