36. learn what “enough” is

I think it is easy to get caught up on the merry-go-round of consumerism, and today’s challenge is to determine when you’ve had enough stuff.

36. Learn what “enough” is. Our materialistic society today is about getting more and more, with no end in sight. Sure, you can get the latest gadget, and more clothes and shoes. More stuff. But when will you have enough? Most people don’t know, and thus they keep buying more. It’s a neverending cycle. Get off the cycle by figuring out how much is enough. And then stop when you get there.

On one hand I am really good at only buying the things we actually need – new shoes when the old ones are worn out. On the other hand I am a complete sucker for some purchases – like a new kitchen gadget (just *one* more glass storage jar from IKEA). When I started the rule of one bag of clothes out for every bag of clothes in (see my post on frugal living here), it became second nature to only replace those items that were no longer serving us – this shirt is torn and is now a rag, those pants no longer fit, I haven’t worn this blouse in the last two years.

There will probably always be a part of me that forgets we have sour cream at home and buys another tub of it while out with the grocery list or running errands. I may never be able to completely curb my impulse plant purchases (of course I *needed* a yellow flowering ginger bulb in my zone 5 area!), my love of gourmet food items (did someone say dark cherry balsamic vinegar?), or organic skincare products. But you can bet I’ll dread running errands during the holiday shopping craze, and you’re pretty much assured that if you’re on my gift list you’re either getting a jar of jam or knitted scarf *again* this year. 🙂

One thought on “36. learn what “enough” is

  1. I think everyone has their triggers 😉 For you, gourmet food falls into that category of ‘never have enough’ which makes sense, though, since it’s a consumable. Kitchen gadgets are another popular one. But some people never stop wanting books and bought books, to boot, not just library books, or maybe handbags or shoes or electronic gadgets. Me… I actually think it’s work and money, which is pretty silly, but beats shopping!

Leave a Reply

