#42, #43 inner zenness

42. Find inner simplicity. I’m not much of a spiritual person, but I have found that spending a little time with my inner self creates a peaceful simplicity rather than a chaotic confusion. This could be time praying or communing with God, or time spent meditating or journaling or getting to know yourself, or time spent in nature. However you do it, working on your inner self is worth the time.

Aha! I’ve so got this one! 🙂 Unlike Leo I consider myself a spiritual person and keeping a spiritual practice is one of my most important things. It also helps that I’ve followed a career path that gives me the opportunity to lead from my heart on a daily basis.

43. Learn to decompress from stress. Every life is filled with stress — no matter how much you simplify your life, you’ll still have stress (except in the case of the ultimate simplifier, death). So after you go through stress, find ways to decompress. Here are some ideas.

I think this is a daily project for most of us – coping with stress. There’s a theory that the body can’t tell the difference between big stress and little stress – it flips over the switches before recognizing that it was only running late to an appointment, not a near-death experience. I think there’s some truth to that theory when I observe how I can get completely revved up over something rather small, especially if I’ve been feeling stressed over other things. Bypassing the brain tends to work best for me – when I can shut off the chatter in my head and let go of small or large portions of physical or mental tension magic happens.

Leave a Reply

