Organizing the spice cabinet

Once you get a spice in your home, you have it forever. Women never throw out spices. The Egyptians were buried with their spices. I know which one I’m taking with me when I go.
Erma Bombeck

The Crate & Barrel rack long outgrown its welcome

The spice cabinet has exploded into nearly every region of my cupboards – it happened slowly, creeping up on me one bag, bottle, vial at a time. I quickly outgrew my Crate and Barrel 18-bottle spice rack and began to tuck the extras into the hard-to-reach areas of the cabinets, and soon I had a corner of the kitchen counter devoted to bags of bulk spices, raisins and chocolate chips.

Dumping grounds of bulk spices & nuts from a productive canning season

Unfortunately I seem to have shopping ADD, without a list I am likely to bring home bulk spices and nuts that I already have but are lost to the spice shopping zone in my brain.

More spices!!!

Thus I began my quest for a more organized spice cabinet! My first goal was to find a possible storage solution that would work better than the C&B spice rack. I found this guy at Bed Bath and Beyond:

It was such a cool idea...

But it didn’t fit in my cabinet! Grrr!

So I turned to my friend Google and simply searched “spice cabinet organization.” Aha! Some folks had complicated systems, others were way into DIY stuff involving paint and chalk. No. Just no. No paint. No chalk. I don’t need an extra crafty project, thank you very much.

Then I found this:

Now we’re talking! Why hadn’t I thought about putting my bulk stuff in canning jars before??

In the tall quart jars my vanilla pods fit beautifully. The small “gift size” jam jars hold more than the spice jars from my old spice rack. Oh man, another excuse to buy more canning jars? Yeah!

Here’s my progress picture from Saturday night:

I finished getting everything into jars and back in the cupboard by Sunday afternoon:

Whew! Next kitchen organizing project? Maybe the tea boxes? Or the food storage containers?

What kitchen project(s) are you proud of completing recently? Go ahead, brag in the comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

