New England Winter Gardening

“From December to March, there are for many of us three gardens –
the garden outdoors,
the garden of pots and bowls in the house,
and the garden of the mind’s eye.”
–   Katherine S. White

Prepping a grow box with organic potting soil and earthworms

Prepping a grow box with organic potting soil and earthworms

In spite of the strangest autumn weather I’ve seen in my 8+ years in Massachusetts we’re past the usual gardening season and on to herb pots sitting in kitchen windowsills. How else do folks survive New England winters of grey skies and heaps of snow without some green in their homes? I may never know!

The past few winters I have grown quite a few things in my Aerogardens (I have three) ranging from salad greens to herbs to cherry tomatoes. This year I have two kinds of basil, dill, thyme, oregano and two kinds of mint going in the large aero up in the kitchen:

Herbs growing in the kitchen

A corner of the basement was completely transformed last month to accommodate an indoor garden:

Indoor Garden in the Cellar

The large grow box on the left are the peppers that didn’t quite finish their summer run so I’m wintering them over – right now we’ve got poblano peppers as long as my thumbs on two of them and several smaller ones.

I added a kumquat tree and a limequat tree to our plant collection, this limequat fruit is ready to harvest. Don’t worry, I’d never heard of a limequat either until I was visiting the local nursery! 🙂

Limequat fruit

Broccoli and scallions have sprouted and you can see the three month old pineapple reflected in the mirror in the background here.

Broccoli and green onion sprouts

Then in the second Aerogarden I’ve got mizuna, arugula, tatsoi, mesclun and mustard greens going, they’re almost ready to start harvesting we’ve enjoyed our first salad with these greens at three weeks since I started them.

Greens

Other plants you can’t see well in the photos or that are not pictured include:

  • Rosemary bush
  • 2 ginger plants
  • Russian heirloom tomato plant
  • Sweetleaf or stevia plant

Still waiting for sprouts to show up:

  • Spinach
  • Guava (yeah, I know)

I’ll be starting some Chinese Cabbage in the next week or so from seed too. I think they’ll do well in the grow boxes because of their compact size.

Composting

In related gardening news we’ve officially signed up for Bootstrap Compost collection service!

Has composting ever been this much fun?

Bianca inspects the shiny new bucket

3 thoughts on “New England Winter Gardening

    • I was just looking at the big fruit today and I think it is just about ready to enjoy. The kumquats have been turning orange this week too! Maybe I should have a limequat-kumquat tasting? 🙂

Leave a Reply

